Stirling Prize-winning practice among finalists for RIBA East Awards 2024

The stone-built music practice space was also shortlisted last year but failed to win an award. In 2022 the practice’s new library at Cambridge’s Magdalene College did, however, win an East region award before going on to win that year’s RIBA Stirling Prize.

Among the other contenders for this year’s RIBA East Awards are ZMMA’s revamp of the Gainsborough’s House museum in Sudbury, and SKArchitects’ Bluebird housing for a homeless charity in Southend-on-Sea.

Nine of the 17 shortlisted projects are in Cambridge, while buildings in Suffolk, Essex, Norfolk and Hertfordshire have also made the list.

They make up the second RIBA regional shortlist to be announced this year after the North East contenders were revealed last week.

Last year’s RIBA East shortlist consisted of 14 projects, nine of which went on to win awards.

Three of last year’s winning practices have also made this year’s shortlist: Pollard Thomas Edwards,  for Beechwood Village, Ashworth Parkes Architects for Bailey Studios and Mole Architects. for Freeholders.

RIBA East jury chair Gavin Henderson, principal director at Stanton Williams, said the diverse range of projects on this year’s shortlist ‘reflects the breadth of architectural talent and the ambition of clients working across the region’.

He added: ‘It is particularly encouraging to see schemes that embrace high levels of sustainability while also focusing on enhancing the experience and wellbeing of their occupants.

‘These are projects that respond with ingenuity to contemporary challenges and their unique contexts, creating characterful places of lasting value.’

A regional jury will now visit and assess all the shortlisted projects, and the winning projects will be announced in the spring.

Winning schemes will also considered for several special RIBA East awards including a Sustainability Award and Building of the Year.

They will also be in the running for a RIBA National Award, the results of which will be announced in the summer.

The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the best building of the year will then be drawn from the national award-winning projects with the winner announced in October.

Source:Nick Guttridge

Lucy Cavendish College, Cambridge by R H Partnership Architects

Shortlist (in full) for 2024 RIBA East architecture awards


  • Bailey Studios, Cambridge, by Ashworth Parkes Architects
  • Dining Hall at Homerton College, Cambridge, by Feilden Fowles Architects
  • John Bradfield Court, Cambridge, by Allies and Morrison
  • King’s College, Stephen Taylor Court, Cambridge, by Fielden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • Lucy Cavendish College, Cambridge, by R H Partnership Architects
  • St Catherine’s College, Cambridge, by Gort Scott
  • University of Cambridge West Hub, Cambridge, by Jestico + Whiles
  • WongAvery Gallery, Cambridge, by Níall McLaughlin Architects
  • 51-53 Argyle Street, Cambridge, by Borough Architects





Source:Edmund Sumner

The Little Big House by Knox Bhavan


تحریریه اخبار معماری آریانا