Wheelwright Prize 2024

GSD completed a makeover of Richard Rogers’ Grade II*-listed Wimbledon house in south London five years ago. Known as 22 Parkside, the building now serves as the residence and research base for international students under the Richard Rogers Fellowship as well as a venue for GSD.

Fouded in 1874, GSD is a specialist graduate school teaching architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, urban design, real estate, design engineering and design studies. Its 13,000 alumni include Charles Jencks, Jeanne Gang and Ayla Karacebey.

The Wheelwright Prize is open to all graduates around the world awarded a degree from a professionally accredited architecture program within the past 15 years. No links to Harvard or GSD are required.

The winner of the 2023 prize was awarded to AA graduate, architect and filmmaker to Jingju (Cyan) Cheng whose proposal Tracing Sand: Phantom Territories, Bodies Adrift focused on the economic, cultural, and ecological impacts of sand mining and land reclamation.

Applications are encouraged to ‘consider the various formats through which architectural research and practice can be expressed, including but not limited to built work, curatorial practice, and written output.’

The Wheelwright Prize – set up as a travelling fellowship in 1935 in honour of Arthur W Wheelwright – was re-launched in its current form 10 years ago. The prize is now open to architecture graduates around the world but was originally only open to GSD alumni with previous recipients including IM Pei and Paul Rudolph.

Project title Wheelwright Prize 2024
Client Harvard University Graduate School of Design
Contract value $100,000
First round deadline 4 February 2024
Restrictions The primary eligibility requirement is that applicants must have received a degree from a professionally accredited architecture program in the past 15 years. An affiliation with the GSD is not required
More information https://wheelwrightprize.org/


‘The winning architect is expected to dedicate roughly two years of concentrated research related to their proposal, and to present a lecture on their findings at the conclusion of that research.

Submissions should include a portfolio of previous relevant work and a two-year research proposal that will involve travel outside of the applicant’s home country.

‘Throughout the research process, Wheelwright Prize jury members and other GSD faculty are committed to providing regular guidance and peer feedback, in support of the project’s overall growth and development.’

Judges for the 2024 prize will be announced in January. Submissions will be judged on the originality of the proposal, quality of design work, previous scholarly achievements, ability to fulfill the proposal and ‘potential for the proposed project to make important and direct contributions to architectural discourse.’

Competition details

According to the brief: ‘The annual Wheelwright Prize is dedicated to fostering expansive, intensive design research that shows potential to make a significant impact on architectural discourse. The prize is open to emerging architects practicing anywhere in the world.